Thursday, May 24, 2012

Okay my chickadees, gather round. Have you ever started a great workout routine/diet, saw great results, accomplished your goal, and then fell flat on your face? I'm here to tell you, you're not alone. I didn't exercise for a month after the half-marathon. Not one jog, work-out video, hike, walk - nothing.


For 3 weeks, I was limping off and on. I think running 13 miles without adequate arch support really messed up my bones/ligaments/muscles/whatever. I still feel it in the soles of my feet when I get out of bed in the morning. There is no excuse for the last week and a half. I was just being lazy and apathetic.


Unfortunately, my body knew I was being lazy and apathetic, and I am reverting back to my blob-like shape. Yesterday I looked at my fitness board on Pinterest and became re-inspired. Also I was noticing how my jeans were fitting tighter again! The past few days I have been making Jillian Micheals 30 Day Shred part of my daily routine. My shoulders and inner thighs are pretty sore! She works the upper arms a lot, which is probably the weakest part of my body.


It's only a few days, and already I feel better. I know it's mostly psychological, but there is something to be said about knowing you are working towards a healthy body.


As some of you may know, Joe and I are moving to Tehachapi, CA. Seriously, who does that. Oh, we do! The husband landed an awesome job there, so we are mountain-bound. I've looked online for a month and a half, and there is not a job in sight for me. Mostly ads for truck drivers and AC repairmen. Also prison guards and borax miners. Not exactly my forte.


It looks like I am going to be stay-at-home wife for a while, until I can do some networking and see what kind of work is out there. I told my mom that I will either get really fit or really fat during this full-time homesteading. Right now my goal is to do the Jillian Michaels every morning, and go for a run every other day. That will probably dissolve during our moving chaos, but I'd really rather get fit once we're there. I will honestly have ZERO excuses. We shall see! 



Wednesday, May 23, 2012

One month after the half-marathon and I am only just finding time to write about it! As I said in my previous post, Our time was 2:30:16. My dad's half-marathon time from the race in November was about 1:55. (How embarrassing. I felt so bad for holding him back! Of course he's a sweetheart and said he just wanted to spend time with his favorite daughter. Sorry Lindsay, the truth hurts.)


I was thrilled with my time. Probably because I would have been thrilled to finish, let alone beat my goal. My goal was to beat my sister's November time, which was about 2:45. :) Can you tell there's a little sibling rivalry?


Anyway, back to the race. I was so nervous the night before. Joe and I have been married for about ten months now, and I don't think he's ever seen me so anxious. I was bouncing off the walls in a bad way. Usually a cuddle or a kiss from him calms me down, but at that time I wanted to scream "I'm freaking out! Don't touch me!" (Sorry, Joe!)
Reason 1: I found out that night that my race packet (by mistake) didn't include a time chip. Would they still let me race??
Reason 2: Long story short, Dad had registered us for the full marathon because the half was full. He was told by the event organizer that this was ok, and we would just have to tell the information table that morning we were only running the half. Still, that's worrisome!
Reason 3: I HAD NEVER RUN 13 MILES BEFORE. Me, the mile-hater, was about to voluntarily run 13!? What the heck was I thinking?


Needless to say, it took me a while to fall asleep that night. My alarm went off at 5am, and I rolled out of bed tired and scared. I made myself an egg and toast for breakfast and tried to drink as much water (not easy with a nervous stomach) as possible. It was dark and cold outside, which just added to my anxiety.


I jogged the mile distance from our apartment to the starting line. I was nervous, but felt better when I saw my dad waiting for me. We went to the information table and told them our plight, and also told them about my missing time chip. They gave me a replacement, thank the Lord!


We stretched, warmed up, and waited to be called. Once the time approached, we shuffled into the waiting crowd to start running. My heart was pounding with fear and excitement. I couldn't believe I was running for fun!


We started at an easy pace and pretty much kept it the entire run. SLO is very hilly, and there were a few hills that I didn't expect. One seemed to last forever, but that made running back down it that much sweeter. We only stopped for water, and once towards the end to use the restroom. It was a beautiful, overcast day. Perfectly cool for a long run. We ran through downtown SLO (eerie in the morning, very still and quiet), through the countryside, and through some beautiful neighborhoods.


Right around mile five, I thought to myself "Uh... Molly, what were you thinking?? I can't do this!". Thankfully, that was right around the time my husband had found a place to cheer us on. He jogged beside us for a few paces, asking how I was doing and encouraging me like crazy. :) (I told you he was the best!)


The rest of the time sort of melts together. It seemed like much longer than 2 and 1/2 hours, but it also went by quickly, if that makes sense? We were cheered on during the final stretch by my mom, my sister and brother-in-law and little niece, and my husband. It was a great feeling to be done, and to know that I had done it!


I would definitely consider doing another one, but not for a while! :)
Honestly, I just wanted to make a post dedicated to my husband (this may be the first of many in). He's been my No. 1 fan and cheerleader during this whole fitness adventure.



My desire to work out is like the tide: one minute I am all in, and the next I am running away (to lay on the couch). Joe's encouragement, however, is constant. He was always supporting me and telling me that I can do it. I despaired of ever running again when I got shin splints a couple months ago, and he held me up and pushed me along.

Side note: His encouragement also includes discouragement of unhealthy things. Last night at Food4Less, he flat out told me "No." when I wanted to buy cookie-dough ice cream (my fave!).

I pouted. He is immune to pouting.

He is an amazing husband. I'm so thankful God chose me to be his wife!



Friday, May 4, 2012

Almost two weeks after the half, and I am still hurting. Unfortunately, as beautiful as my shoes are, I think I need new ones. After talking with an athletic/nursing student friend, I think the problem was arch support. It feels like my bones are cracked (which is a HUGE exaggeration, my legs aren't broken). When I leave for work in the morning, I have to go downstairs. Each step I take makes me wince.

This is horrible for two reasons:
1.) It hurts.
2.) I'm afraid to exercise.

I feel the itch to do SOMETHING. After training for three months, I went from running 5-20 miles per week to complete inactivity. I want to run or do a workout video, but I'm afraid of how it will feel on my legs.

My dad and brother-in-law have both been measured/fitted for running shoes. The running company recorded them run and advised them on the best shoe for their step. I'm thinking this might be the next big purchase we make for me. I want to keep running, but not if I have to keep limping downstairs!